Explore By:

1653 Session Information

 Please turn your device to landscape view for wide tables like those below.

  • Start Date: Jul 5 1653
  • End Date: Jul 13 1653
  • Notes: This Assembly met from July 5 to July 13, 1653, or later. Historical records of this Assembly are incomplete.
  • Speaker: Walter Chiles
    William Whitby
  • Clerk: John Corker
Name Locality Committees
John Baldwin Lancaster
Robert Booth York
Daniel Boucher Isle of Wight
Robert Bracewell Isle of Wight
Walter Broadhurst Northumberland
John Bushopp Charles City
William Butler/Buttler Surry
Christopher Callthrop/Calthrope York
Walter Chiles James City County
Thomas Dew/Due Nansemond
William Edwards Surry
George Fletcher Northumberland
Thomas Hackett Lancaster
William Harris Henrico
William Hockaday York
Stephen Horsey Northampton
Abraham Iversonn Gloucester
Thomas Johnson Northampton
Cornelius Lloyd Lower Norfolk
Edward Major Nansemond
Samuel Mathews/Matthewes Jr. Warwick
William Mellin/Mellinge Northampton
Peter Montague Nansemond
Francis Morgan York County
Richard Pate Gloucester
Robert Pitt Isle of Wight
John Sheppard Elizabeth City
Henry Soane/Soanes James City
Thomas Thornbury Elizabeth City
William Whitby Warwick
William Whittaker/Whittakers James City
Anthony Wyatt Charles City
Francis Yarly Lower Norfolk
Argall/Argoll Yeardley Lower Norfolk

*The information within this interactive and searchable application has been researched extensively by the House Clerk’s Office. As with any historical records of this age and breadth, there may be discrepancies and/or inconsistencies within records obtained from a variety of credible sources. Any feedback is encouraged at history@house.virginia.gov.

Search What's This?

Advanced Search